The Best Eyelash Curlers + a GIVEAWAY!

Free stuff, did you say? I’m a real blogger now!

I’m working on compiling a list of the best of the best in beauty so that no one who reads this blog will ever waste money on products that don’t work again. And, we’ll all improve our good looks by at least 10%. Picks will be based on recommendations from all of you, insider tips I’ve heard along the way and my own personal experience trying zillions of things.

Up first: eyelash curlers. One of my friends recently told me that she was in the market for a new curler because she was still using her old Revlon one. The one with the special feature of denting the center lashes while not touching the outer ones and strong to very strong possibility of hurting you at some point. You know the one because it’s cheap and we’ve all used it. There is better:

1. shu uemura eyelash curler  2. Japonesque Power Lash Curler

The shu uemura eyelash curler is great and everybody knows it. It wins awards every year and whatever magic they put into the design really creates a perfect curl with gentle pressure. A friend of mine (who shall remain nameless to protect her identity from my millions of readers) had a problem with her eyelashes once. The problem was that they were falling out of her eyelids. After that, she says the shu uemura is the only curler she trusts. She has a great lashes now, so that’s a pretty major endorsement.

There are cons, though. shu uemura is no longer sold in the U.S., which means its no longer available at Sephora and you can only buy it through the company’s website. It seems shocking based on how popular the brand is, but they do something like 80% of their sales in Asia, so we’re redheads to them. And correct me if I’m wrong, but I looked everywhere for refill pads and they are NOWHERE to be found. They just don’t sell them. Instead, they make you buy a brand new curler each time your pad wears out. Psh.

Enter the Japonesque Power Eyelash Curler (and the giveaway, I’m getting there). After I broke up with shu uemura over the refill debacle, I bought this curler at Ulta and I’ve never looked back. It works just as perfectly as my old curler and I love the silicone pad (so much better than foam pads, which cause denting). And the best part: FREE REFILLS FOR LIFE. It’s written right on the box. I just ordered my free refill online for the first time, so I can vouch for it. I didn’t even have to pay shipping!

Now, the giveaway. When I bought my Japonesque curler, Ulta was having a buy one, get one free special (as they do) and so I bought two, not realizing refills were free. I still have that second curler, in its orginal box, waiting for me to never use it. I’m trying to manage my hoardy tendencies, so, I’m giving it away!

Shiny! $19! Free refills! Sorta vintage!

To enter, just leave a comment below with one (or more!) of your favorite beauty products (any kind, whatever you love best), because I would love your recommendations for future posts. Winner will be picked at random tomorrow. May the odds be ever in your favor!

35 thoughts on “The Best Eyelash Curlers + a GIVEAWAY!

  1. You had me at free.

    Thanks for the heads up on Japonesque, I was heartbroken to find Shu Uemura not being sold in the US anymore and the dude at Sephora told me the Sephora brand is just as good, if not better. Doubt it. What do guys know about eyelashes anyway? Psh is right.

    My must have beauty products are Living Proof hair styling treatment, Wen hair products (yes, from QVC, thanks Mom), Laura Mercier concealer, and Laura Geller Balance and Brighten. Just found out my fave mascara has been discontinued! Any suggestions?

    • Thanks for your must haves KB, for awhile you could have been the automatic winner! I’d be interested to hear how the Sephora curler is, but I don’t think they sell refill pads either. Double psh.

      Mascaras…that will be another post for sure, but as a spoiler I think Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara is amazing. Cover Girl Lash Blast (orange or purple tube) is the best drugstore brand.

  2. Thanks for the info. I need a new eyelash curler since I destroyed mine in my purse (it was plastic Avon one). And I love Ulta and their sales!

    My favorite beauty product is Hope in a jar face lotion by Philosophy. My face drinks it up especially in the winter.

  3. Kiehls lip balm #1, Burt’s Bees honey & grapeseed oil hand creme, Laura Mercier secret camouflage concealer, Aveeno positively radiant daily moisturizer (spf 15) and avocados (I believe eating lots of guacamole makes your hair shiny)

    • You just reminded me how much I love Kiehls lip balm, I had a tube and it lasted forever. And shiny hair is totally a guacamole side effect, you are living proof.

  4. I never knew getting a good eyelash curler made a difference, I want to try one of these now!
    My guilty pleasure is bumble and bumble creme de coco shampoo & conditioner. Its the best! If I use something else, I can see the difference. The Body Shop’s body butter is perfect for my winter dry skin, grapefruit smells awesome in the morning.

  5. Hooray, my work computer hasn’t blocked your blog!! I’m always looking for good hand lotions since my hands are usually like sand paper in the winter. One of my favorites is Bliss High Intensity Hand Cream. Another favorite product is Redken All Soft Shampoo and Conditioner. They recently “changed the formula” but so far I haven’t noticed a difference, my hair is still as soft as ever 🙂

  6. Ah I love curly lashes!!

    Now that it’s getting cold and my skin is dry, I love Burt’s Bees miracle salve – I slather it on my elbows and hands before bed and I swear it cures dryness . Burt’s Bees lip balm is always my go-to, Hope in a Jar, Eye Hope (no eye wrinkles yet, so it has to be working!), and for hair – Moroccan Hair oil if I need some shine!

    PS – I thoroughly enjoyed the HG reference!

  7. Hi Lynn,
    I work with Lauren and I am enjoying reading your blog. I really need a new eyelash curler and am excited to read your post. My favorite beauty items are Laura Mercier concealer, Nars blush in orgasm, Urban Decay eyeliners and eye shadows and Dior DiorShow mascara.

    Can’t wait for more of your reviews!

  8. I hate curling my lashes because it is a 50/50 chance that I hurt myself, so I need to try this out!

    My favorite product is Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation. It’s so light and silky smooth. Totally worth it (at least that is what I will keep telling myself.)

  9. Hi Lynn! I’m your sister =o)

    One of my favorite products and a MUST is my Urban Decay eye primer potion.

    Ladies, do you ever get those pesty annoying makeup creases on your eyelids from wearing eyeshadow all day? This takes care of that. Just put it on before you apply your eye makeup and it will keep those creases away guaranteed.

    Other favorites relate to what I am going for with my hair. I have pretty healthy thick hair, but that means it’s pretty oily by the end of the day and tends to want to lay heavy and my styling doesn’t last. I’m not interested in shiney-ness or sleekness, I want texture and bounce. Enter Bumble & bumble.

    1. Bumble & bumble gentle shampoo
    2. Bumble & bumble thickening conditioner
    3. Bumble & bumble thickening hair spray (spray in wet hair, then blowdry/style)

    These products were recommended by my hair stylist and work wonders. My hair can do so much more then before because it keeps it’s volume and holds waves and curls much better. It keeps the hair light, not weighing it down with product. It’s also made my hair a lot less oily, and I can finally be like the cool kids and not wash my hair everyday – folks, this is a miracle. I highly recommend these projects if you have hair like mine.

  10. So as you know, I have an eye phobia so I dont curl my eyelashes, so if I should happen to win, you can pick again and let someone else who will use the curler win!!!!!

    One of my gavorite go to items is maybelline define-a-lash mascara (green tube)!!! I love it!!!! It goes on great, doesnt clump and even gives my lases a little curl, so its ok I dont use a curler!!!!!

    Also, I was a huge fan of laura mercier concealer for awhile, however now I feel like its lost some of its effectiveness!!! I would totally be interested if you did something about concealers!!! I have terrible bags under my eyes, so I would love to hear what you come up with for reducing bags and covering them as well!!!

  11. Lauren!!!
    I have very thin hair, but it gets very very very oily and I have never been able to not wash my hair everyday, do you think that Bumble and bumble would work on me???

    • It’s definitely worth a shot!!! I always used to wash my hair everyday religiously. My stylist finally talked me into just trying to skip a day, and after using the bumble and bumble products it started to work!!! the hardest part is waking up that first morning and not washing your hair… it’s hard to trust it won’t look like crap. but if you can get past that first day, it just gets better after that. Also, you should still wash your bangs everyday, that shiz touches your forehead all day. Also, get some dry shampoo. i put it in my bangs and even in the rest of my hair to help if I feel it’s a bit oily. It also helps a TON with static!!!! better then hairspray because you can brush it through and it remains static free =o)

  12. Ohhh, I am in the market for a new eye lash curler. Thanks for the reco!

    And since you asked for my favorite products, I have quite a few that I love:

    HAIR: Moroccan Oil (helps keep my hair shiny and sleek) and Redken Guts 10/Volume Spray Foam (helps tame the crazy colics I have in my bangs)

    FACE: The Body Shop’s Camomile Eye Makeup Remover (it’s super gentle), Olay Complete Moisturizer (this formula’s been around FOREVER, but it’s the real deal and it works. My grandma used it it everyday on her face and neck and she had the BEST skin.) and Dermalogica Clearing Mattifier (helps keep my shiny face to a minimum)

    MAKEUP: Laura Mercier Secret Finish Mattifying (helps keep my shiny face looking not so shiny), Smashbox Anti-Shine Primer (this stuff is from the mattifying heavens! It helps keep my shine under serious wraps), Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer (this is a need to have. It 86’s the eye shadow crease you may get on your eyelids.) and MAC Blot Powder/Pressed (I used this for my wedding makeup and it make my face non-shiny all day)

  13. P.S. Lynn – about the eyelash curlers, you know mine are stick straight and you make fun of me when you see me. I have one of those cheep curlers you speak of, and it makes my straight lashes into a 90 degree angle.

    If I don’t win get me one of these for xmas!!!

  14. I have the revlon one…and I’m ready to put it to rest…
    my favorite product…
    Right now is Makeup Forever creme blush. its in a pump, and you only need the smallest amount. They sell it at Sephora, but its not overpriced at all. It gives great color without streaks, and stays on really well!!!

  15. Pingback: And the Winner is… | Style Alter

  16. I can’t believe I skipped one day on my Google reader and missed this whole contest!!! I’m heading to Ulta to stock up on everyone’s picks so thanks for costing me 100s of dollars!

    I’m a big fan of Benefits That Gal face primer though, brightens me right up!

  17. F….I don’t know anything about beauty. I need to tag this blog in my favorites…stat so I can look fly for my nuptials next Sept. I have terrible skin so any beauty products for sensitive, acne, prone (even though I am 28) skin are greatly appreciated.

  18. Hm, I need to start using Google Reader!!

    It’s been so fun reading everyone’s product recommendations! Some of my personal faves:

    BlissSpa Naked Body Butter – goes on pretty thick, but leaves your skin super-smooth. great for super softness on special occasion nights and battling Chicago winter dryness.

    Lorac Front of the Line PRO – I recently made the switch to liquid eye liner (just on the top lid) and it has changed my life. I have always struggled to find either a pencil liner or eye concealer that would prevent the inevitable makeup smudge all over my eyes by midday, to no avail. I’ve always avoided liquid liner, thinking that it would look too Broadway-style makeup-y, but as long as you apply tight to the lash line and then smudge with a bit of shadow, it works great!!

    VASELINE. It’s a lip moisturizer, a makeup remover, an eye cream, you name it.

  19. Pingback: Have a Little Faith in Me | Style Alter

  20. Hi Lynn,
    Just wanted to let you know that I bought a Japonesque eyelash curler after reading this blog post and I LOVE IT! It is amazing and has pretty much changed my life! Can’t wait to read more reviews from Style Alter!

Your Turn. Got a Comment?

