Watts Up? Nothing, Just Blasting My Hair with Gemstones

For my next product in the “best in beauty” series, hair dryers were an easy choice because I have a very clear favorite: the Speed Freak 2000 Watt Ceramic and Tourmaline Dryer by Rusk. I’m not the only one—a stylist at Van Cleef Hair Studio (where Michelle Obama goes in Chicago) and I talked at length once about how much we love this dryer and I recently read it’s what Kate from The Small Things Blog uses (if you’re on Pinterest, you know her).

I’m now on my second after having my first Speed Freak for about five years (a respectable life for a dryer). It does dry my hair freakishly fast, as the name entails. With the combination of this hair dryer, the right brushes and the right technique, I no longer need to flat-iron my hair. That’s unheard of for me, so be impressed. Retail price is $135.95, but you can easily find it for less ($79 at Ulta).

When it comes to hair dryer technology, “ceramic,” “ionic” and “tourmaline” have been the stagnant buzz-words for the past few years. Ceramic materials heat fast and evenly, so this makes good sense. It’s the ionic claims that get a little questionable. If you’ve bought a dryer within the past several years, it’s likely ionic. They’re everywhere, at all price points. The gist is that when hair is wet, it has a positive charge. By blasting hair with a negative charge from an ionic dryer, hair is supposed to dry faster and sleeker.

Tourmaline is another material used in hair dryers, typically the more expensive models. This is the selling point of the famous $200 T3 Featherweight. Tourmaline is—get this—a gemstone. They crush these gemstones into a powder and incorporate them into the blow dryer. Really. There is some science behind this because tourmaline yields a charge, so in theory, this dryer will blast your hair with negative ions.

Maybe tourmaline is how Jem transformed their hair!

My Speed Freak is ceramic, ionic and contains tourmaline. All the bells, all the whistles. But I don’t really care about all that—what really makes the difference to me is the wattage. The Speed Freak has 2000 watts, one of the most powerful on the market. The T3 has 1800 watts, which is respectable, but it’s more expensive. I bought at CHI dryer with only 1300 watts once and it was so weak, I had to return it. Even though it was supposedly throwing those ions, it took forever to dry my hair and looked frizzy by the time I was done.

So in my opinion, ions and gemstones probably do help a little, but wattage is really where it’s at. I highly recommend the Rusk Speed Freak because of its power, especially if you have hard to manage hair. However, any dryer with 1800 watts or more should do the trick. Another good tip is to ask your hairstylist what he or she uses.

What I’d really love to do is test the Speed Freak vs. T3 Featherweight vs. Elchim 2001 Classic Hair Dryer (Lauren Conrad’s favorite hair dryer) so if anyone owns these dryers, let me know!

32 thoughts on “Watts Up? Nothing, Just Blasting My Hair with Gemstones

  1. GREAT POST!

    When I first saw what this was about, I figured you just wrote about your blowdryer as being the best because it’s the only one you have. But after further reading, I am impressed and also sold on this dryer. I own a Chi pro and just assumed it was the best since their flat irons are supposed to be the “best”. You are right about the wattage, it doesn’t feel like it’s very strong. BUT it does dry fast and well for me. However my first chi dryer’s “cool” button got stuck so it wouldn’t blow hot air anymore. You mentioned Ulta have your dryer for a good price, I also recommend getting your hair tools from ulta because I brought my dryer back and they gave me a brand new one to replace my faulty one.

    Next time I need a blow dryer I will try the Rusk one for sure. You should do a follow up on this post and pair the dryer with the best brush (I recommend a huge barrel brush if you don’t want to use a flat iron) and what products to use too! =o)

  2. Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get
    started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

  3. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe that this amazing site needs much more attention.

    I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

  4. Terrific work! This is thee typpe oof information that should be shared
    around the net. Shame on Google for now not positioning
    this publish upper! Come on over and visit myy website .
    Thank you =)

  5. I really liike your blog.. very nice olors & theme. Did
    you creae this website yourself or diid you hire someone to do it for you?
    Pllz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u
    got this from. kudos

  6. Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same topics? Thank you so much!

  7. We stumblеd over herе coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.
    I lіke what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking аat
    your web paye yet again.

  8. Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  9. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but
    I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  10. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against
    hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

  11. I’m now not sure where you are getting your info,
    however good topic. I needs to spend some time studying more
    or working out more. Thank you for excellent information I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

  12. In like manner start a lengthy history I had created become together with my husband
    while i has been 15 in addition to he or she was 21 years
    old, without a doubt I know that it has been completely wrong inside the era sense but he was the very first gentleman to indicate me legitimate
    awareness and adore some other then your folks which merely wished to snooze
    with me.
    Consequently allows return to realize, I am 19 and
    have a new several weeks old baby at this point in addition to my husband couldnt become more tired
    of us all unless of course when he / she wish to have sex with me at night.
    I had each of our kid by means of Csection along with first thing he / she do as soon as this individual received property has been take a seat as well as perform dissertation composing reside not
    necessarily ensure most of us were being ok simply no he or she needed
    to perform dissertation assistance stay.
    And now this individual merely spends almost all his moment smoking cigarettes weed
    as well as spending time with his buddies and also meanwhile i will be to
    be a single mum the idea seems like.
    Actually good sense which little one was born We have performed
    every thing to make certain jane is healthy along with happy
    and possesses every thing your lover wants, We’ve obtained a career in addition to got 2 various other job gives along with they hasn’t removed a little finger to
    do something to help people. He is twenty five and I am just normally the
    one submitting task purposes intended for him, and I usually get your full romantic relationship and when he / she didn’t employ a job I
    did in addition to on of sixteen When i ended up being operating in addition to paying for his / her gasoline in addition to
    smoking whilst he or she kommet around as well as intravenous done this particular when this
    individual was terminated as well as let go.
    Not to mention every time he or she holds the child she yowls
    along with he does not attempt to calm the woman he merely palms the woman returning to us and yes it fails our heart because this individual overlooked on connection with
    your ex in addition to anyone close to us all could see the idea, my own parents always requesting me the
    way we are doing as well as describes exactly how your woman could tell
    im miserable and that the child can certainly experience it after i acquire
    unsatisfied as well as stressed and also I don’t want
    to do that will.
    the particular more painful portion can be My spouse
    and i have no buddy to be able to talk to in addition to
    they will keep indicating he will show myself to
    operate a vehicle and not really does as well as i’m starting to feel like this individual manages to
    do it to hold us captured and singled out, this individual can not discover why
    internet marketing so unsatisfied dissertation writing yet at any time My partner
    and i make an effort to consult him about this his or her response incorporate really,
    ok, guaranteed, and my personal favorite I will modify…
    Could not count number how much periods he’s explained We’ll adjust as well as
    would good for daily and then returned for you
    to their shitty approaches. We do not know what im inquiring along with I am uncertain what exactly
    different to convey I could truthfully continue on all night about how exactly little attention he exhibits
    throughout me and also the infant however it would you
    have to be too much word writing dissertaton
    Seeing that questioned below My business is truly presently coping with the mother and
    father while using little one along with he lifestyles together with his father
    although they hasn’t already truly still left my own mother and father however nonetheless We have enquired and also the moms and dads preserve inquiring the time they ideas with being.

  13. Hello there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  14. Hi! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.

    Does running a well-established website like yours take a
    massive amount work? I’m completely new to running a blog however I do write in my journal on a daily basis.

    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and views online.

    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring blog
    owners. Thankyou!

Your Turn. Got a Comment?

