Our Wedding on SMP

When I was wedding planning, StyleMePretty.com was my crack. I went to this website obsessively. So you can imagine that I’m pretty psyched that SMP featured our wedding under “Illinois Weddings” this week!

See the feature here.

They even sent a badge in case I have a blog, which now I do, so yay! Badge it up:

This comes at a good time because I can finally stand to relive the wedding again. That sounds horrible, as if I hated my wedding, and it’s exactly the opposite. My wedding was the best day of my life and every cliche that goes with it. It’s just that after the wedding, after I excitedly watched our wedding video over and over and looked through our pictures a million times, I got burnt out. I had spent so much energy on all of this and truthfully, I just really didn’t feel like looking at myself anymore. Does every past bride go through this?

Anyway, I’m over it. Look at me! Since this is a style blog, I’ll take a minute to talk about the fashion.

The dress. The top was lace and transitioned into a tulle-type fabric.People have strong opinions about lace — I love it.  I twirled, a lot.

One alteration we made to the dress was the flower belt. My favorite part of the dress, courtesy of my mother.

The girls looking good in J.Crew. My sister and I picked out multiple styles in the same fabric and color. The best part was that the dresses were on sale because the color was being phased out (to be replaced by basically the exact same color with a different name. J.Crew is sneaky like that). This caused some stress because there were limited sizes available, but it was worth it for the price. In the end it worked out and Andrea, my consultant, was awesome and made sure everything came together. Great customer service.

The boys, so dapper. We had them wear black suits, which they already owned. If you’re looking for a suit tailor, I got another Gus for ya. Todd took his suit to Gus’ Tailor Shop — not the shoe guy, he’s yet another talented Gus. My solution to everything now is “take it to Gus!”

Star Wars cufflinks for the boys, from Crimson King on Etsy.

I don’t really know all that much about men’s fashion (snooze) but I do have something to say about ties. We bought grey ties for the boys that were 3 inches wide because Glenn O’Brien of GQ says that’s the perfect tie width. “As a partisan not of fashion but of style, I firmly believe that approximately three inches is the perfect tie and single-breasted-lapel width—permanently,” he says.

Speaking of ties, width-debate aside, my dad wins the most stylish award for his sushi tie.

I love this purse (from Nordstrom) and want to attempt to dye it a different color (unless someone wants to borrow it first.) The potential for this to go very wrong is very high, so that adventure will probably be a future blog post.

Bridesmaid jewelry was purchased from the strip of jewelry stores on Clark in Uptown. A woman at one of my dress fittings told my mom and I about these shops, which are jam-packed jewelry stores filled with cheap knock-offs you have to pay in cash for. Basically, my idea of a great Saturday. I went with my sister, not sure if we’d find anything worthwhile, and we immediately spotted these awesome bauble-y necklaces and bracelets.

Girls wore nude heels, which looked great. As fashion expert Carson Kressley says, “They lengthen the leg and make everyone look tall and glamorous.” Sparkly leather J.Crew flip flops were given to the girls to change into once they were tired of the heels.

I wore flats (from Top Shop). Best wedding decision I made.

Not fashion-related, but my sister did an awesome job on our invitations, save the dates and other paper materials. Lauren did the design and my mom painstakingly put them together by hand because she is the best mom ever.

My dad made our cake toppers to look like our entire bridal party for our cake buffet!

I’m going to end this by listing all of my vendors, because I really, really loved them all. Now, when people ask for recommendations I can just direct them here!:

Photography: Angela Renee Photography (Angela is amazing, I’m SO grateful we found her when we did because she is blowing up now).
Venue: Salvage One (coolest event space ever).
Officiant: Rev. Tom Perrucci (perfect if you want a personal ceremony – he’s funny, too)
Print Design: Lauren Okura, Graphic Designer (The Best)
Floral Design: Gratitude-Heart-Garden
DJ: Ralph Darden, a.k.a. Major Taylor of Style Matters (If you want a dance party, you want Ralph).
Hair & Makeup: Krystyn Johnson and Samara Toby from Bridal Beauty Chicago (The very first vendor I booked, loooove them).
Caterer: Maison Cuisine (Danielle from Maison is a great person and honestly the only reason we could afford to have this wedding).
Cakes: Sweet Mandy B’s (So yummy. They do “real” wedding cakes, too).
Cake toppers: My awesome dad
Dress: Pronovias via Dimitras (Make your appointment with Marcia, you’ll love her).
Belt, card box, candles, basically everything: My amazing mom
Earrings: Nadri via Nordstrom
Hair Comb:ChantalEveleen
Cufflinks: Crimsonking
Shoes: Top Shop
Bridesmaid Dresses: J.Crew
Striped Orange and Gray Straws: HeyYoYo
Flower Hairpins in Bridesmaids’ Hair: ProjectU
Videographer: JR Bangit (my sister’s friend – I’m not sure he wants to film any more weddings, but I’m so glad he did ours and Todd and I will honestly cherish it forever.)

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqAC2nOwFWM

Since this is the end of the road for my wedding, I’ll take this opportunity to say this again: Todd and I are extremely grateful to both of our amazing families and blessed to have such great friends!

2 thoughts on “Our Wedding on SMP

  1. Pingback: Your Questions About Jewelry For Bridesmaids

  2. I am obsessed with your wedding shoes! I ♥ them and can’t find anything like them out there…yet anyways. Love reading about your wedding as I plan mine 🙂

Your Turn. Got a Comment?

