Fashion Quotes That Actually Make You Feel Good

I love fashion, but there comes a point when it goes and turns on you. Body image, income, judgment – it all takes a toll. I’ve collected a few quotes from people I admire who might just make you feel a little better about the world and how you choose to present yourself in it.

Adele

“I like having my hair and face done, but I’m not going to lose weight because someone tells me to. I make music to be a musician not to be on the cover of Playboy.”

I love that Adele is who she is. I’m bored of looking at tween pop stars in short dresses. Adele let’s her voice speak for itself – but inconsequentially she is really, really beautiful.

Tim Gunn

“Not to sound disparaging toward anyone, but when people cite J.Crew as budget shopping—it really isn’t.”

Amen, Tim. What is with the onslaught of magazines and fashion figures using J.Crew as their budget buy? Give me a break. Anyone who knows me knows I love Tim Gunn and this quote is from an interview with him (one of the most delightful experiences of my life). I won’t argue that many things in fashion are worth the investment, but there is no reason to make the people living in the real world feel like crap.


Nicole Chavez, Rachel Bilson’s Stylist

“I like to think about what would feel different, to the point where someone would stop me and say, ‘I wouldn’t have done that.’ Trying to push the envelope is fun, because you want people talking, and you want people to take notice. There are no rules. There are suggestions, but there are definitely no rules. So have fun with fashion.”

I became a Rachel Bilson fan in her O.C. days and the genius that was Season 1. The girl’s got great style and I like this quote from her stylist on Refinery29 because it’s a reminder that fashion should be fun. If you take it too seriously and are more concerned about being judged than expressing yourself, then it’s not.

Advanced Style
Lastly, I leave you with this video from Advanced Style. This incredible street style blog features older women who just plain rock. There are a millions great little lessons in here that lead to the conclusion that again, fashion should be fun.

10 thoughts on “Fashion Quotes That Actually Make You Feel Good

  1. I love the line at the end of the video, “Young women, you’re going to be an old woman some day. Don’t worry about it. Don’t sweat it. Don’t worry about getting older. Every era builds character.”

    • Yes! Love that. So many good quotes in this video, I couldn’t call out just one…I love the woman who says that dressing up is “an exercise in creativity.”

  2. Pingback: Keepin’ it Real « JZ-Fashion-from the Right Angle

Your Turn. Got a Comment?

