How to Wear Metallic Zebra Print

You read that right. I finally wore a skirt I’ve been trying to wear for two years and I owe it all to chambray. I think my next Fashion Show at Lunch post will have to feature this genius shirt in three ways. It’s just so comfy and easy and versatile. I think by now we can all add chambray shirts to our wardrobes with confidence that this isn’t just a trend, but a staple piece – it’s really the resurgence of a classic, the combination of a basic button down and all-American denim. I say it’s here to stay. Wranglers is like, “Yeah, no duh.”

I wore this on Friday night, first to an event at Ann Taylor with my friends Kari and Joan and then to the MCA for one of their First Friday events with Todd:

Chambray shirt: J.Crew, Skirt: BCBG Generation.

I bought this skirt during a sale about two years ago, and this is the FIRST time I’ve ever worn it. I’m not happy about that – I am not one to buy something and let it sit. But I mean, it’s a metallic, zebra-print skirt. Who am I? I remember thinking I would wear it for New Year’s Eve. But then I remembered that I hate New Year’s Eve. My goal is to spend it in the most casual, least invasive way possible – not on my couch, but as close to that as I can get. Like on a friend’s couch. So a metallic, zebra-print skirt is probably unnecessary.

Until we enter the chambray shirt. I gave it as a gift to myself during J.Crew’s site-wide Black Friday sale and have to recommend it because it’s so soft and comfy, but you can easily find your own less expensive version (Nordstrom, Urban Outfitters and Old Navy, for example). Chambray works so perfectly with metallics, sequins, bold colors and all the crazy stuff you want to wear but need to tone down in some way. Thank you, chambray.

3 thoughts on “How to Wear Metallic Zebra Print

  1. Um, you just taught me the word Chambray.

    Was that really a word I was supposed to know?

    Thank you, as always, for this education in fashion, Lynnie.

  2. I’ve been looking for a good Chambray! Thanks for finding them for me…I’m liking the Nordstrom one! Let me know if you are at Camden again…I live right down the street!

Your Turn. Got a Comment?

