P.S. I’m a Jewelry Designer Now

I’ve been talking about wanting to take a jewelry class forrrevvvverrrr now (as some of you know) because I have all of these vision of jewelry designs that need to exist in reality and not just my head. So after my sewing class ended, it was time to get serious. I enrolled in a metalsmithing class and a wax and casting class at Lillstreet Art Center–which started last night! Our first task in becoming metalsmithers was to create a simple pendant out of brass or copper. What I love about this class already is that right off the bat, we were allowed to create our own designs. It’s not as if we all created the same pendant–we were told to sketch out whatever we wanted and go for it.

Here’s what I made:

Style Alter Illinois State Necklace

It’s the state of Illinois! And, if you look closely–a message for my fellow Illini fans.

I actually created two, but I want to go back over the larger copper piece and physically cut out a little letter “I” to mark where Champaign, IL is.

To make this piece, I started by sketching the design on paper. I knew right away that I wanted to do the state of Illinois, so I looked up a map on my phone and drew it out. I am not taking credit for the concept of a state necklace–the idea came from a something I’d seen before. There are many versions out there, but I like to think my little “I-L-L” brings some originality to the table.

I sawed out the design, filed it smooth, drilled a hole for a jump ring and connected it to a chain.

My teacher said to make sure we keep our first pieces, because she likes for us look at them at the end of the program and see how far we’ve come. So what you’re saying is, I should be embarrassed of this? Because I might never take it off. Then again, I love absolutely anything with a U of I connotation. I kind of owe everything to this school: my career, my friends, my husband for crying out loud.

In front of Foellinger Auditorim, my favorite picture from the engagement photos we took in Champaign after Todd hired a photographer off Craiglist for a grand total of $50.

For my first attempt, I’m pretty much in love with this necklace. Maybe I’ll design an entire U of I collection. Who wants a KAM’S necklace?

20 thoughts on “P.S. I’m a Jewelry Designer Now

  1. THAT’S AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you are well on your way to be coming a seller so popular on etsy that you get bombarded at the Renegade craft fair, and then get picked up by a cool shop!

  2. Hi Lynn, I too started a silversmith course on Monday. I have started a piece similar to you, mine is of the island of Ibiza. I will post pictures when I am done. Yours looks fabulous. Well done.xx

    • Did you make those skull bangles on your blog? Because if so, you are A) awesome and B) way ahead of me, and I REALLY appreciate your comment! Thanks so much!

Your Turn. Got a Comment?

